Sometimes I Wish….

Nicely done poem from a feminist friend of mine 🙂

Sista*seeker

Sometimes I wish I wasn’t a feminist

Because feminists are few

And there is rarely comfort in numbers

If all the feminists you know are two

But then when someone speaks up

For a non-feminists rights

I realize that feminists are many

We just don’t want to be identified

By every Jill, Jane and Sally.

Sometimes I wish I wasn’t a feminist

Because right and wrong would be less complex.

I could sit through a movie

And not hear all the sexist, ageist, racist slurs

And go home and sleep-

And not feel like a part of me died inside the cinema hall.

I could be-like everyone else.

But then I realize that everyone else

Wishes that someone else

Had the courage to speak up

Or walk out

Of an ageist, sexist, racist movie

And make everyone present

Not leave a piece of their humanity behind.

Sometimes I wish I…

View original post 248 more words

One thought on “Sometimes I Wish….

  1. Adriane says:

    Ah Now I’m smitten! 😉
    From all this you have written!
    Shall you be my personal Kitten? 😀
    I do a bit of poetry.

    Like

A Reply Maybe? :)

